What If I Surrender?

Praying can be scary. Have you ever thought that? Most people find comfort in praying for help – they cry out to God to fix this or that, they ask him to mend things, to give them peace, to gain wisdom, and a plethora of other things along these lines. But every once in a while you can communicate and surrender events just like you are supposed to and later reflect on what that might actually mean.  The reality can send a shiver down your spine and goose bumps down your arms.

I lived in the “what-if” stage of life far longer than I would like to admit.  My childhood was filled with “what-if” thoughts.  I was a homebody, I never wanted to leave my mom’s side… cause, What if?  Throughout my life, I’ve felt like my “what ifs” also made me a negotiator with God, which has honestly always disturbed me. God, you can do this – but not that, cause THAT is off-limits.  Negotiations like this filled my mind for years, have you ever done this?

The concept of surrendering situations and life events at the feet of Jesus is beautiful. We know we are called to do this and it sounds wonderful, but most of us seem to find ourselves picking our concerns, fears, events or whatever it is back up and beginning the “what-if’s” once again.

“True surrender will always go beyond natural devotion if we will only give up.  God will surrender Himself to embrace all those around us and will meet their needs, which were created by our surrender.  Beware of stopping anywhere short of total surrender to God.  Most of us have only a vision of what this really means, but have never truly experienced it” Oswald Chambers

This spring, a young man I didn’t know as well as I would’ve liked, passed far too soon from this life for many of his friends and family. He was a young man who filled himself with anything focused on gaining souls into the Heavenly Realm.  His parents found note after note and prayer after prayer displaying this.  They even found a note with this type of surrender, the one that says “whatever it takes Lord- bring them back to you” Wow! Whatever it takes. Whatever. That means no control, no stipulations, no “what if”, just surrender.

Absolutely surrendering so freely to say or imply; whatever you need from me Lord to make them find you, do it. That’s total surrender for someone else’s gain. It’s completely selfless. He was displaying the  John 15:13 verse that says “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends” or it’s living out 1 John 3:16 “By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers.”

Have you been communicating with our Heavenly Father with the purpose of saving souls into the heavenly realm? Have you been so burdened to pray for something or someone to the point of “whatever it takes”? Has God burdened your heart, like he has mine for a ministry or even a potential one? Maybe it’s the total surrender He is waiting for?

Isaiah 41:10 ESV :  fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Published by

Oldmommadenew

I'm not sure how much you want to really know but here are a few things you might be curious about. I'm married. I have 4 kids. I have a dog. I have a house and a van. I love all things funny and humorous. I love Jesus and He loves me (you too if you didn't know). I want to write some stuff down for my kids. I want them to know what I think about and maybe even how I feel. Lessons I've learned this far. This is for them. AND, Lord willing, I will even be around to have my grandchildren read these one day and I can laugh at how silly I think they are when I am REALLY old. I hope I've gained so much wisdom by then that I look back and think these are true of the time but yet... foolish. I hope to gain wisdom and insight with each passing day.

Leave a Reply

